Week 9 – Plagiarism and Cheating

  1. Considering my intent is to teach elementary school, I think that I will deal mostly with students copying each other. As I started to answer this question I then began to wonder what age cheating starts and when children are completely aware of cheating when do they realize they can use the internet; the illustration from the article “How Could That Sweet Third-Grader Just Cheat on That School exam”, shown above, breaks down the ages and phases.
  1. I am going to use my project as an example so that I can implement technology. My project utilizes an online program that is set up with assignments geared toward the individual student, as well as the family. In this case I would watch very closely for answer that mimic each other. I think at a young age kids copy verbatim making it fairly easy for teachers to identify cheating. I would definitely require in quotes and, depending on the grade, modified citations, and include some form of an in class quiz or short essay regarding the material.

As students get older and start reading more complicated books, ones that have spark/cliff notes                              would definitely implement some kind of plagiarism software like Turnitout.

  1. There is a variety of reasons students plagiarize/cheat. According to the article ‘How can Universities stop students cheating online’ students cheat due to “stress, tiredness, and pressure to perform”. Dr. Newberry also mentioned the pressure in areas like med school where the demand is so extreme that students get overwhelmed with the amount of information. I think all of these issues point to pressure and the need to be successful. Most students are under stress and are tired because there is a lot of pressure to achieve a certain grade.

“Cheating in Online Student Assessment” talks about students who are distant from the educational environment tend to be more tempted to cheat. Time restriction is another reason for cheating. Online classes are often taken by students who have a full schedule; they work full time and have a family which leaves them with little time to for school work.

One last reason that students plagiarize is improper citations, this obviously is the most unintentional. Citations can be confusing so the more practice students get, the more comfortable they become, and the less problematic this type of plagiarism becomes.

  1. I think I played an active part in the discussion this week. Here is a reply that I hope will make some of you think a little before accusing and judging students work because you think you “know” they’re writing style. I think that this can be a very dangerous way to catch someone cheating.:

“I had an interesting experience in one of my undergrad composition classes.  All of our assignments dealt with responses to books excpet one, which was a paper regarding a very good movie we watched.  I  have never been the best write and I consistenly recieved average grades, except for this on assignment, I recieved a high B.  The disturbing part was the comment writen in large red letters…THIS IS NOT A RESEARCH PAPER, YOU WERE EXPECTED TO SHARE YOUR OWN OPIONS, which I did.  Why would I waste my tame researching something when I get to write my own opinion. I was livid, to say the least, and I always wondered what my grade would have been had he not accused me of “researching”.  With that said…I think as an instructor you have to be very careful on these kinds of accusations.  You have to look at the whole picture.  I think I wrote a much better paper because I was able to relate to the subject matter, whereas that was not the case in the previous assignments.”

  1. I think Laura played a very important role in the discussion this week. She presented lots of resources and offered great replies. Here is one that I really liked!

“You are so right Jeff. Ethics and morality are set at a very young age. It is a process of development that needs guidance.  Laura”

I think that as an educator I have to be very aware of my students work. But, most of all I have to design my courses in a way that will prevent cheating right off the bat. I think presenting students with the consequences of cheating can be a good start to prevention. Assigning work that requires students to draw from their experiences and teaching proper citation techniques is also extremely helpful.

Cheating in Online Student Assessment: Beyond Plagiarism (Cheating in Online Student Assessment:Beyond Plagiarism) http://www.westga.edu/~distance/ojdla/summer72/rowe72.html

Online Plagiarism and Cybercheating Still Strong – 61.9% – NeoAcademic (NeoAcademic RSS http://neoacademic.com/2011/02/04/online-plagiarism-and-cybercheating-still strong/#.VIUryYcreJV

Slater, H. (2014). How can universities stop students cheating online? The Guardian. Retrieved     December 2, 2014, from http://www.theguardian.com/education/2014/mar/14/students  cheating-plagiarism-online

2 thoughts on “Week 9 – Plagiarism and Cheating

  1. Brian

    The comment from the instructor about your paper being research was odd. I wonder if there was an error or misunderstanding on the instructor’s part?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

